3 March 2017: 

This evening, on behalf of Capital Chemist, ACT Education Minister Yvette Berry MLA awarded 31 of our public school students with scholarships for their commitment in the fields of academic excellence, citizenship and special talents and abilities.

The Capital Chemist College scholarships are an investment in our young people and are designed to assist students with their further education expenses as they enter their final year of schooling.

Over the past 14 years the Scholarships have been awarded to 550 of Canberra’s most promising students and amounts to over $490,000. This year we have added 31 students to this number, who received scholarships valued at $1,000 each.

The scholarship program provides a great opportunity to recognise the achievements within the ACT public school community.  It is a rewarding way to acknowledge the students’ academic achievements, commitment to their local community through volunteering, fundraising and leadership and/or their special talents and abilities. I truly admire this year’s winners, the quality of their achievements, and I look forward to watching their continued success.

The Public Education Foundation is proud to support Capital Chemist by facilitating the nomination process within our public schools. The awards reflect the vision of the Foundation to provide outstanding services, build a sense of community and pursue personal and professional excellence.

I am very grateful to the Capital Chemist for their long term commitment to our public school system and their investment in our local community.

Congratulations to all the scholarship recipients and their schools’ principals and teachers who have supported and encouraged them throughout their learning journey. Well done today and I wish all of the scholarships recipients the very best in their future endeavors.

The 2017 Capital Chemist Scholarship recipients are:

Black Mountain School

Lucinda Morberger – Academic Excellence Award

Crystal Owen – Citizenship Award

Geordie Clynch – Capital Chemist Award

Canberra College

Harry Evans – Academic Excellence Award

Courtney Mattick – Citizenship Award

Aaron Campese – Capital Chemist Award

Dickson College

Catherine OuYang – Academic Excellence Award

Lal Chhan Pa Sang – Citizenship Award

Fatemeh Fouladi – Capital Chemist Award

Erindale College

Jane Spooner – Academic Excellence Award

Isabelle Roze Beath Williams – Citizenship Award

Joshua Harper – Capital Chemist Award

Gungahlin College

Lucinda Antcliff – Academic Excellence Award

Sophia Engelhardt – Citizenship Award

Lara Burch – Capital Chemist Award

Hawker College

Jack Fuller – Academic Excellence Award

Naomi Clement – Citizenship Award

Laura Pease – Capital Chemist Award

Lake Tuggeranong College

Hayley Mason – Academic Excellence

Megan Brinkley – Citizenship Award

Melba Copland Secondary School

Matthew Morriss – Academic Excellence Award

Salome Fangaiuiha-Jones – Citizenship Award

Connor Richards – Capital Chemist Award

Narrabundah College

Claire Yung – Academic Excellence Award

Esther Suckling – Citizenship Award

Karlee Curtis-Sullivan – Capital Chemist Award

The Woden School

Lucinda McClusky – Academic Excellence Award

Damon Meli – Citizenship Award

Trevor Chi Ho – Capital Chemist Award

University of Canberra Senior Secondary College

Lake Ginninderra

Anthony Perkovic – Citizenship Award

Ezi Magbegor – Capital Chemist Award