Awards celebrate outstanding achievement in public education

Outstanding student achievement and inspiring public education staff and parents have been recognised in the 2020 NSW Minister’s and Secretary’s Awards for Excellence.

The awards to more than 130 individuals and schools showcase NSW public school students, staff and parents who have made major contributions to their education communities and serve as role models to their peers.

They also acknowledge schools that have embraced innovative programs to improve student wellbeing and academic results and are changing the way education is delivered within the government system.

The award recipients, from right across NSW, were selected in the following categories:

  • Minister’s Award for Excellence in Student Achievement
  • Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Secretary’s Award for Excellent Service
  • Secretary’s Award for an Outstanding School Initiative
  • Secretary’s School Achievement Award
  • Public School Parent of the Year

The NSW Minister for Education and Early Childhood Learning, Sarah Mitchell, said the awards affirmed the high standards, dedication and community connections in the public education system.

“These awards highlight the tremendous contribution that students, teachers, support staff, principals and the school community make to public education in NSW as we strive for learning and teaching excellence,” Ms Mitchell said.

Department of Education Secretary Mark Scott said it was timely to celebrate the range of achievements in a difficult year for schools, staff and students.

“This year’s recipients showed the remarkable flexibility and resourcefulness in our school communities when faced with the learning challenges of COVID-19,” he said.

“Many of these schools and teachers have used their significant knowledge of education in their communities to lift their school standards and recognise all students as their own learners.”

Public Education Foundation executive director David Hetherington said the foundation was proud to host the awards on behalf of Education Minister Sarah Mitchell and Department Secretary Mark Scott.

“The awards are always a highlight of the education calendar, showcasing the extraordinary talent across NSW public education, which has been on display more than ever in this unusual year,” Mr Hetherington said.

For more information contact: DoE Media Unit, 02 7814 1559; email

Public Education Foundation Executive Director David Hetherington: 02 7814 2805.

Read the award citations on the Public Education Foundation website

Photographs of award recipients are available on request.

Download Award Results